Project Happiness 365: Day 117

Standard

Holy shit! Today has been amazing. I had a very nice sleep even though we went to bed at around 5 in the morning. We went to university to get our works done. But the reason why today has been special is because we listened to this epic album by DreamTheater called ‘Metropolis Part 2: Scenes from the Memory’. This concept album has always been my favourite DT album but somehow I forgot about it. I listened to ‘The spirit carries on‘ once in a while. But I forgot how freakingly awesome this album is.

Last night when we were trying to find songs we wanted to sing, we chose ‘The spirit carries on’. Listening to that song with him took me down the memory lane. I told him about this one particular memory with this album. One night when my whole family were watching TV,  I just locked myself in my room, turned off the light and listened to the whole album with my eyes closed. That was 1 hour and 17 minutes of a very profound journey. I just soaked into the music following the plot of Victoria’s murder and Nicholas’ personal struggle and getting goosebumps all over my body. When the last song was over, I was in tears. The album is that beautiful.

screenshot_2016-04-04-18-09-40.jpg

Today I relieved that moment. Only difference was I was in a cafe and there were people around me. But everything ceases to exist and all that remained was me and this spellbinding music. If you haven’t listened to this album or even Dream Theater’s music then, this is the album I would recommend. I simply love the original line up of Dream Theater. It’s a shame that Mike Portnoy left the band. It’s not the same anymore. I couldn’t get myself to listen to their new albums.

Nevertheless, thank God I have music like this and I am blessed with a good music taste and ears to appreciate it. 🙂

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

