Project Happiness 365: Day 11

Standard

Today has been completely ‘ME’ day. I had a plan to meet a friend and go to this cafe that was on my wishlist. But something came up and he wanted to go out with me later and get a drink instead. After the drunken spree two days ago, I didn’t want that. That’s why I went to this place alone. Oh! and I am glad I did that.  That place became my instant favourite and that’s the reason for my happiness today.

Day 11: Beat of Tromsø: Backbeat 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you are a music lover and have been living in Tromsø for a long time then, you definitely know this place called ‘Backbeat Kaffe og Vinyl‘ . Unlike me. I have been living here for a year now and I didn’t have a clue about this place until a couple of days ago. I had a feeling that this place is gonna be something special. As soon as I entered, I felt like I was in heaven, a musical heaven. The whole place was full of vinyl records and there was a small seating area. I chose a couch and sat down just soaking in the good vibes and admiring the place. People were going in and out.

Then, I went to get a cup of cortado. A couple of men with long hair, beard and tatoos, who obviously looked like musicians, were sitting there sipping their coffee and having what seemed like an awesome conversation. (They were speaking in Norwegian, so, I am not so sure! 😉 ) A cool couple owned this place. I talked to the guy first. It became just a customary welcome conversation. He didn’t have much to say. He just loved getting the records and changing the music. I liked his music taste. I sat there reading ‘Kafka on the shore’ by Haruki Murakami. After I read ‘South of Border, West of Sun‘, I thought nothing would top that but oh boy! Kafka is getting there soon. I can’t seem to put the book down. Murakami throws awesome quotes with every single page. Until now I like Nakata, the dumb guy who talks to cats. But seems like Oshima, the librarian has an interesting history. If I were Kafka, I would be super skeptic about going to stay at this mysterious place he is taking him on his sports car. One more thing that has changed after reading this book is my view on cats. NOOOOOO I don’t want that to change. LOL! Kidding!! I am not much of a cat person but after reading Murakami’s take on cat’s life and personality, I am getting soft corners for these fluffy creatures. 😛 So, ya! everywhere I go, I carry Kafka with me and read a couple of pages in my free time.

There were these two guys. One of them was talking so animatedly. He seemed like a huge music lover. I was amazed by how he could mimic these vocalists from Lynard Skynard and AC/DC. Talking about Sweet Home Alabama and all. I was amused at the energy by which he was explaining his friend about some kind of concert. Oh, I love when people show passion and speak without any barrier about the things they love. It reminded me of this guitarist guy I was living with some years ago. We bonded over music conversation and spent hours talking about music. I don’t remember the last time I talked about music like that with anyone. So much emotion, enthusiasm and energy!

Before I left, however, I went and talked to the woman, Kari. She was great to talk to. I just stood there by the counter talking about their cafe, her studies, my studies, their dreams, life in Tromsø, polar night- depression, crazy people you meet in Tromsø, cultural festivals, metal music festivals in Oslo/Bergen and so on. She even had a Nepali friend couple of years ago and she was planning to go to Nepal. It was so good to talk to her and we bonded kinda good. Oh OH! I’m very scared to say that about Norwegians because every time I think I bonded with them, the next time we meet, they act so weird or pretend they don’t know me. But since she wasn’t drunk when we talked so, I have a feeling that this bonding will last. Still, I have to wait until next time to be very sure.

That place definitely gave me a lot of happiness. Why? Because it was a brainchild of two passionate music/vinyl lovers. It is like their kid, their passion. So, the place possessed so much of their personality and character. Plus it was great to see that they were so in love with each other. Kari told me that she moved to Tromsø  15 years ago,  met this guy and this was their shared dream. It was what they always wanted to do. So, you could clearly see that they loved what they were doing.

So, YAY! Mission accomplished!! I found my new favourite hangout in Tromsø!!! 🙂

2 responses »

  1. Sounds like a wonderful day. I love when people are passionate about things. I wind up liking a lot of things and never really passionate about anything. Which is okay too, I guess.

    I went to bed early a couple days in a row and feel a little rested. Gonna stay up a bit tonight, though. Can’t waste a Saturday.

    Like

    • It was indeed. I love these alone times where I just wander around this city and stumble upon cozy places like this.
      I can totally relate to what you are saying. I am ‘jack of all traits, master of none’ myself. I’m a huge music lover but not a creative person. But I love to see the sparks in people’s eyes when they talk about things they are passionate about. That’s also one of the thing I love when I talk to my boyfriend about certain things 🙂
      Oh! since a couple of days, sleep has been good to me too. (*touch wood!) 8 hours of sleep is a blessing.
      Enjoy your late night rendezvous. Have a great evening. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

