Project Happiness 365:Day 8

Standard

I am very down today. I am trying to find out what made me happy today. And it is difficult. Everything is making me feel sad today. There was this amazing celestial event this morning where the patches of clouds colored in neon colors. I tried to take a few pictures but it didn’t turn out as expected. Apparently they are called ‘Polar stratospheric clouds’ or also commonly known as ‘Mother of pearl’. It was a guilty pleasure for sure because even though it looked quite spectacular (imagine day time northern lights), they have some relation to ozone layer depletion. Anyways, I had my share of fun trying to figure out what it was and attempting to take a picture.

Day 8: Gratis Bøker 

Free book

Free Books

One thing I love about being in this university is ‘Gratis Bøker’  as Norwegians call it which translates to ‘Free books’. They give away free books at different departments here. Most of them are in Norwegian but if you are a bookworm and have a habit of looking at the table full of free books, you might be lucky enough to get some cool ones. Today I found books by Jack Kerouac, Nick Hornby and Zadie Smith. The other day I found Norwegian version of ‘Norwegian Wood’ by Haruki Murakami but I gave it away to my German friend as he had never read Murakami. I, being the unofficial spokesperson of Murakami, insisted that he had to read it. That was how we spoke for the first time. Last year before Christmas break, I found ‘On Poetry and Poets’ by T.S. Eliot and ‘Interpreter of Maladies’ by Jhumpa Lahiri for free at the free bookshelf at the university library. It’s an ecstasy to get books for free. Also the process itself, when you go through the piles of books then, you find something you wanted to read or something appealing, you feel really happy. I had my moments of happiness with free books and I am sure there is more to come.

 

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

