Project Happiness 365: Day 3

Standard

It’s been a low key day. I wasn’t that productive. Spent half of the time talking to my best friend back home. It was really good because she is the only friend I connect to so well. We joke and laugh so much when we chat. It’s like talking to her gives me my much needed laughter dose. But I actually have a reason to be ecstatic today.

I had been thinking about a teacher I had in my junior high. She was a volunteer from England accompanying her husband who was doing a PhD about a community TV in my hometown in Nepal. She was the best teacher I ever had. Her classes were so much fun. Her method of teaching was very much different than the conventional way we were used to. We were actually encouraged to think outside of the box. Those classes were beyond books, blackboards and chores. She introduced ‘Friday activity’ where we had an eventful Friday where we played, drew, painted, sang, recited poetry, read stories, danced, planted flowers, hiked the nearby hills, cleaned our classroom and school area. We discovered that there is so much to learn from the life outside of the classroom.She gave us stars and chocolates for awesome class/homework. I connected with her very well. I had some really good conversations with her on our walk to school and back.

She also helped build a really good library in the school by getting her friends and family back home to donate books. We got loads and loads of books. We helped her clean and repaint the library. She appointed me and few other students as a librarian to run the library during recess. That was a turning point in my life. I loved reading since I was a kid. My mother and I had this ritual of buying books every time my exams were over. But becoming a librarian and having access to so much fascinating books triggered this bookworm switch in my head. I borrowed several books each day and read them all night. That was the time when I started pulling my first all-nighters to finish books. L.M Montgomery, Jane Austen, Bronte Sisters, Rudyard Kipling, Roald Dahl, Charles Dickens, I read them all. That phase was fascinating. I was coming of age and reading those books gave me a new perspective in life.

But after a year, it was time for her to go. We parted with a promise to keep in touch. We kept our promises for a while but as time passed, we forgot about it. After this Facebook revolution, I tried to find her on social media. But I couldn’t. She was nowhere to be found. Mails sent to her previous address, returned back. So, I was quite sad. But last night, I just had a hunch that maybe I should try to get in touch with her husband, the professor. And bingo, one google search and I found his professional e-mail addresses. I quickly sent him a mail. The first one bounced back. But I tried again. Second one went through. Now all I had to do was wait and watch.

Well coming back to the point, you must have guessed why I am happy today. Yes, I got a nice reply from him this afternoon.

Day 3: Lost and Found 

3

Name anonymized for obvious reason 😉 

I am very happy. I was jumping with joy when I received this mail. She is one of the few people that I still cherish in my life. I can finally send her a nice long thank you letter. I think it will make her happy. 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

