Project Happiness 365: Day I

Standard

I know it sounds cliché when I call it Project Happiness 365.

I am a very lazy person. The queen of procrastination. I love postponing things as much as I can. I work on the eleventh hour. So, of course stress is like my middle name.

I went through divine experiences recently. But still when change within isn’t as abrupt as some people describe, I freak out and question my integrity. Haven’t I learnt anything? Am I going to be the same old self forever? Do I have to lose everyone and everything I love before I will come to my senses? Will I be forever unhappy? Why can’t I be the light and spread positive energy around? What am I waiting for?

I have been so down lately. My mood is like a roller coaster. 3 days of extreme happy Me = 5 days of depressed whiny bitch. Being in Tromso doesn’t help much especially because of polar nights. Tromso is pretty much dark now. And it is very difficult to keep up my sunny attitude when there is no sun around. But nevertheless, I can’t give up.

So, I decided to start this photo story project where I will post a picture everyday for the next 365 days starting today. Picture of something/someone that is a reason for my happiness.Yes! Every Single Day!!  I know I have been pretty bad at keeping my promises. When it comes to posting regularly on this blog, I admit I suck! But I swear this time. Cross my heart and hope to die!

Call it desperation or an attempt to cope with this dark period or life in general but I felt like I needed to do this. I needed a wake up call to remind me of all the good things in my life. Things that I am grateful for. I invite you to join in my happy journey. Here we go!

Day I: Northern lights

1

Northern Lights, Northern Norway

When I first came to Tromso, people were going berserk over northern lights and I didn’t have a clue why they were going crazy. They were all hunting for it like crazy. Checking northern lights notifier apps, hiking up the hill or booking a guided tour. I, on the other hand, was quite indifferent. But one fine day, I was walking home from work and suddenly, I happened to look up in the sky and guess what! There she was, the green lady dancing in all her glory. I felt overwhelmingly happy. It felt so good to be alive and be able to witness this amazing phenomenon. A brilliant green wave dancing its way through the sky. What a spectacular sight! After that day, every time I see northern light, I become like a kid on a Christmas morning. 🙂

This picture in particular was taken one evening in March 2015, during a walk with my bf to one of our favorite hills in Tromso. That night was magical. The sea, the moon and the northern light made whole atmosphere divine. I have been taking a lot of Northern light pictures but I choose this one. The reason is because a lot of happy memories is attached to this particular picture. And most importantly, it reminds me of how grateful I am to be able to share moments like these with my special companion.

I realize if there is one thing that makes me happy despite everything, it is Northern Light indeed!

Read more about this heavenly phenomenon here.

Happy! 🙂

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

